India: It’s Mallikarjun Kharge vs Shashi Tharoor For Congress President: 10 Facts

Mallikarjun Kharge is probably to surrender as Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha in step with the Congress’s “one character, one put up” rule, said assets.

Here are the pinnacle 10 factors on this big tale:
Mr Kharge is probably to resign as Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha consistent with the Congress’s “one character, one put up” rule, stated sources.

Digvijaya Singh, Shashi Tharoor

Both Mr Kharge and Mr Tharoor are anticipated to document their nomination these days earlier than the three pm cut-off date.
Digvijaya Singh, who amassed his nomination papers the previous day, dropped out of the competition after assembly with Mr Kharge this morning.
After a late-night assembly, Congress veteran KC Venugopal conveyed to Mr Kharge that the leadership wishes him to contest, said sources, notwithstanding the Gandhis pronouncing they would remain neutral.
Former Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, a key member of the “G-23” group of dissenters who had shot off an explosive letter to Sonia Gandhi in 2020 annoying organisational adjustments, has sponsored Mr Kharge for the pinnacle post, said resources.
Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot bowed out of the race after apologizing to Sonia Gandhi the day gone by for the Rajasthan riot by way of MLAs dependable to him.
Mr Gehlot turned into visible because the first choice of the Gandhis for the top Publish until his probabilities were broken through the rebellion with the aid of his loyalists who said they would now not accept Sachin Pilot, who had rebelled in Opposition to him in 2020, as his substitute as the Chief Minister.
The Congress says Sonia Gandhi will decide soon whether Mr Gehlot will continue to be Chief Minister of Rajasthan.
The Congress the day past warned the loyalists of Mr Gehlot in Rajasthan, who are already accused of indiscipline. Mr Venugopal said sturdy motion might be taken for statements on the birthday celebration’s “internal subjects and against other leaders”.
This is the first Congress president election in extra 20 years with non-Gandhis in the contest. The Gandhis have refused to contest making way for other senior leaders to head the party.Mallikarjun Kharge has entered the race for Congress president as the choice of the Gandhis, assets say. Veteran leader Digvijaya Singh has opted out, leaving Shashi Tharoor because the handiest other candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page