Sport Others: Hurdler Rohan Kamble books semifinal berth in U-20 world athletics championships

The second day of the World Athletics U20 Championships at Kasarani Stadium in Nairobi, Kenya on Thursday abandoned an award for Indians.

Amandeep Singh Dhaliwal, in men’s shot put, was the lone Indian to figure in six finals held. In the men’s shot put, Amandeep, 19, had just a single lawful toss and completed last and twelfth among the finalists with a distance of 17.08m in his third endeavor.

In the capability on Wednesday, Amandeep entered the last round with a toss of 17.92m and has an individual best of 19.15m.

The evening meeting was deferred by around two hours because of downpour.

Before that Rohan Gautam Kamble qualified for the men’s 400m obstacles elimination rounds timing 55.00 seconds for a fourth-place finish in the fifth warms. His colleague Hardeep Kumar was last among 33 contenders with a helpless season of 1:12.80s after he staggered before the obstacle on the final lap. All things considered Hardeep, 18, got off well from the squares just to collide with the penultimate obstacle and it required some investment to recuperate and to finish the occasion.

Anu Kumar verged on meeting all requirements for the men’s 800m elimination rounds as he came fourth in the principal heat with a planning of 1:50.26 seconds. Top three having the chance to qualify, Anu missed the mark as the last and sixteenth qualifier Paul Anselmini of France had a period of 1:50.23s. Anu was put seventeenth among 30 contenders while in the ladies’ 800m occasion, Pooja timed 2:10.66s to complete sixteenth among 29 adversaries.

On Wednesday Indian group of four of Barath Sridhar, Priya Mohan, Summy and Kapil beat Jamaica to secure the bronze award with a period of 3 minutes 20.60 seconds yet behind Nigeria and Poland.

In the men’s spear toss capability additionally on Wednesday, Kunwer Ajai Raj Singh Rana (71.05m) from Group An and Jay Kumar (70.34m) from Group B tied down their places in the last to be hung on Friday from 4.20pm IST. Rana has a season’s best of 74.75m while Kumar’s own best is 72.29m.

Nandini Agasara (ladies’ 100m obstacles), Tejas Shirse (men’s 110mH), Pooja (ladies’ 1500m), Shaili Singh (ladies’ long leap), Shanmuga Srinivas Nalubothu (men’s 200m warms), Sunil Joliya (men’s steeplechase ) are the Indians who will contend on the third day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page