Yes: Pakistan won T20 World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka On this day in 2009

Yes: Pakistan won T20 World Cup by defeating Sri Lanka On this day in 2009:

New Delhi: It was on this day, 12 years prior, that Pakistan crushed Sri Lanka to win its first T20 World Cup title.

In the finals played at the Lord’s Cricket Ground, Sri Lanka won the throw and picked to bat first. Sri Lanka got off to a terrible beginning as it lost its initial four wickets with only 32 sudden spikes in demand for the board.

Tillakaratne Dilshan (0), Jehan Mubarak (0), Sanath Jayasuriya (17), and Mahela Jayawardena (1) all neglected to leave an imprint with the bat.

Kumar Sangakkara then, at that point steadied the boat and played an unbeaten thump of 64 races to take the side’s complete to 138/6 in the distributed twenty overs.

Pursuing 139, Pakistan openers Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hasan gave a consistent beginning a remain of 48 runs.

Sri Lanka couldn’t recuperate and eventually, Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik directed Pakistan to their first T20 World Cup title win.

Pakistan dominated the game by eight wickets and with eight balls to save. Afridi and Malik stayed unbeaten on 54 and 24 separately.

Pakistan had made it to the finals of the debut release of the World Cup too yet missed the mark against India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page